Did you know that as of January 1, 2014, all private transfers in Illinois need a background check? You can run it here. Here’s a few other things you may not have known about private transfers in Illinois:
- You still need to observe the waiting periods. 24 hours for long guns and 72 hours for handguns, receivers/frames, and pistol grip shotguns.
- You will both need to keep a record of the transfer for 10 years. (find a handy form on our download page for Illinois and out of state residents)
- Federal law prohibits person to person transfers across state lines. Selling a handgun to a friend in the next state over, you’ll have to take it to a dealer in their state. Giving a long gun to a family member in another state? If they live in a state that borders Illinois, they can come to a dealer here, if not, you’ll have to send it to a dealer local to them. These are called FFL transfers and dealers are free to charge any amount they choose. When you wonder why dealers charge for this service, just remember that we have to pay for the background check and keep a record of the transfer forever!
- There are a few people that are exempt from the background check. These are husband, wife, son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, father, mother, stepfather, stepmother, brother, sister, nephew, niece, uncle, aunt, grandfather, grandmother, grandson, granddaughter, father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law, and daughter-in-law.
If you want to read the FOID Act in all of its legalese, check it out here.
Just remember, at least we aren’t in New York or California!